Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Tara tutors in Phoenix, AZ

Tara B.

Private tutor in Phoenix, AZ

Tara B.585

85 reviews

Education

University of Arizona - BA, Creative Writing, Spanish and Portuguese , Arizona State University - MA, Elementary Education

Experience

I was first introduced to tutoring while working on my undergraduate degree at the University of Arizona, where I worked in the Writing Center. I worked with my peers as well as high school students, assisting with everything from essays to personal statements. After earning my B.A., I spent the next two years working with Teach for America as a corps member. During this time I also earned my M.A. in Elementary Education from Arizona State University. Next my love of teaching led me to Japan, where I taught English through Phoenix Sister Cities. I worked with students of all ages, and had the opportunity to travel and experience the Japanese culture and language. I found, through tutoring and teaching, that I am passionate about education. I love working with others and believe that everyone is capable of finding success, given the proper tools and instruction. As I have experience with both classroom instruction and individual tutoring, I can honestly say that I prefer working with students one-on-one. I love getting to know the individual, setting goals, and seeing progress. I believe that tutoring is more of an exchange over traditional teaching, and love working along side a student to solve a problem. When I'm not tutoring or teaching, I love to travel, garden, watch movies, and spend time with my loved ones.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

15 miles at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Travel, gardening, reading, writing, racquetball, movies, Netflix, learning new languages, writing postcards

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!