Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Parisse tutors in Phoenix, AZ

Parisse S.

Private tutor in Phoenix, AZ

Education

University of California-Berkeley - B.A., Geography , California State University-East Bay - M.A., Geography

Experience

My academic background centers on geography. I attend UC Berkeley for my undergraduate degree and Cal State East Bay for my master's. My emphasis was Human Geography and Spatial Technology. My tutoring experience is broad and deep. I was a tutor as part of the Advancement Via Individual Determination program, which focused on traditional high school grades. I worked both one on one and with small groups. In this program, I tutored in World History, American History, Geography, and English. I have also helped second and third grade readers improve their comprehension skills. Additionally, my background includes tutoring students from kindergarten to age 22 in special ed programs, teaching them social skills and basic education subjects. At Berkeley's Hall of Health Children's Museum, I led presentations and gave tours for students ranging in ages three to eighteen. While I can tutor on many subjects, my strongest areas are Public Speaking, Literature, History, and English. I find much joy in helping students with the process of discovery and learning. I continue to learn myself as I teach others. I believe the better someone becomes at learning and acquiring knowledge, the better choices they will make for their future. When not focused on tutoring, I pursue some of my many interests - writing, yoga, Tai Chi, flying kites, cooking, drawing, and singing.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Tai Chi, yoga, reading, writing poetry/short stories, cooking, singing and drawing.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!