Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Graeme tutors in Phoenix, AZ

Graeme F.

Private tutor in Phoenix, AZ

Education

Russian (Language) B.A., 3.89 GPA, graduated 2014 summa cum laude from Arizona State University. English (Literature) B.A., 4.0 GPA, graduated 2014 summa cum laude from Arizona State University. Baccalaureate Certificate in Russian and East European Studies, 2014 from Arizona State University.

Experience

Quite simply, I want to share my love of learning, languages, writing, and literature with others. I utilize my varied education and work experience gained in U.S. and foreign universities toward a learning experience that is beneficial and rewarding for others. I love witnessing visual and spoken progress with my students through tutoring. Russian credentials: I currently teach Russian language classes at two Scottsdale public high schools and tutor the students there as well. I am at an Advanced level for Russian speaking, writing, reading, and listening. In addition to completing four years of Russian language courses through my university, I completed a year of intensive Russian language study at St. Petersburg State University in Russia for 2013-14 while living with a Russian family. I also completed a two-month full course of Russian in Kiev, Ukraine at the Nova Mova Institute while living with a Ukrainian family in 2012. While in Russia, I translated news releases for the Lenfilm movie studio. As a native English speaker who learned Russian in the states and abroad, I know what it takes to study this fascinating language! English credentials: I was awarded 9 local and national merit and research based scholarships toward my English degree as well as finishing all four years of my education with a 4.0 GPA. I acted as an ASU Scholars Mentor for incoming freshmen, who needed extra help with English coursework. I have experience teaching and tutoring college-aged English major students with writing, literature analysis, and proofreading essays. I also work with high school aged students with literature and essay work for their classes. My passion for literature, writing, and reading carry from my childhood and now through my professional life. Hebrew: I studied 8+ years of biblical Hebrew in elementary school and studied 3+ years of Modern Hebrew at Arizona State University. I was a co-leader of a campus Modern Hebrew conversation club for two years, as well as providing tutoring services for beginner learners of Hebrew.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 45 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

I am an avid reader of fiction and non-fiction and enjoy writing for travel blogs and for my own entertainment. Language learning is a lifelong occupation and I am always challenging myself by pushing my Russian skills forward with reading, speaking, and vocabulary acquisition (ask me how!). I spend a lot of time outdoors, walking and hiking. I am an amateur musician and play piano, alto saxophone, and guitar with friends and local groups occasionally.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!