Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Douglas tutors in Phoenix, AZ

Douglas S.

Private tutor in Phoenix, AZ


Arizona State University - Bachelors, German and Women's Studies , UC Berkeley - Masters, German Literature and Culture/Applied Linguistics


I earned a bachelor's degree in German language and culture from Barrett, the Honors College at Arizona State University. I also earned a minor in women's studies. I continued on with graduate work at the University of California in Berkeley, earning my master's degree in German literature, culture, and sociolinguistics. It was there where I was honored with the highly regarded Eugene Cota-Robles Diversity Fellowship. Additionally, I attained a master's degree in educational psychology and public administration from Northern Arizona University. As far as my tutoring experience is concerned, I've helped students both in private tutoring sessions and at academic institutions that include: Oakland Unified School District, Arizona State University, Maricopa Community College District, Stanford University, Paradise Valley School District, University of Phoenix, and UC Berkeley. I focused my efforts on subjects such as English, languages, public speaking, and debate. I thrive on the challenge of working with individuals of every stripe. Because of my experience working with a diverse student population, I've developed a teaching approach that is built on respect, patience, and humility. My greatest measure of success is seeing the results of a student's efforts firsthand. That moment of realization and clarity mirrored on their is very rewarding to me. When I'm not tutoring, I dedicate my free time to learning, hiking, communicating with various cultures, and catching up with family. 


Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate


Learning, foreign languages, sociolinguistics, hiking, interacting with different cultures, spending time with my family

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!